Wednesday, April 11, 2012

Ruff Award Winners and the New SGA President

The Vol State Student Leadership luncheon is an opportunity to recognize the student leaders who did so much throughout the school year with student clubs and organizations on campus. The students were honored today and two students stood out among the talented group. The Robert Ruff Distinguished Student Leadership Award goes to those student leaders who showed a remarkable degree of dedication, dependability, sensitivity, objectivity and motivation. This year William "Boyd" Kernodle was given the award for the main campus for his work with the new Student Veterans Association group. Carol Abney was given the award for the Livingston campus for her work as a Supplemental Instruction Leader and with the National Society of Leadership and Success. Congratulations to both!

George Pimentel was honored as Faculty Advisor of the Year for advising Phi Theta Kappa and the Honors Program.

The finale of the event was the announcement of the race for Student Government Association president. The winner is Aaron Thomas and he will serve next school year in that capacity.

Volunteer State Community College

No comments: